On Thursday, the Lagos State Government confirmed four new coronavirus cases, bringing to 12, the total number of cases in the country.

The state Commissioner for Health, Akin Abayomi, who disclosed this at a press conference in Ikeja, also said the Italian, who was the first person in the country to be diagnosed with the disease, had tested negative.

Abayomi stated this just as more states took steps to prevent the spread of the disease. The Federal Capital Territory and states such as Ogun, Benue, Anambra, Enugu and Niger on Thursday ordered the closure of their schools.

He also told journalists that the state government is tracing 1,300 persons that might have had contact with the positive cases.

Abayomi stated, “The virus cannot jump a distance. It has to move either through contact, very close proximity or if you touch the surface that an infected person has also touched.

“Effectively, it means no touching; if you are unwell, stay at home, particularly if you have respiratory symptoms. Communicate with your medical professionals, or contact any of our hotlines, particularly, 08000CORONA.”

FCT, Ogun, Benue, Anambra, Enugu, Niger shut schools

The states government said it has extended the ban on all high-density gatherings to school and worship centres in the state.

“Consequently, all schools in the state will remain closed indefinitely after school hours on Friday, March, 20th, 2020.

“Also, all religious centres and activities including regular and special services that bring together 50 or more persons in the same place are banned with immediate effect.

“These measures will be reviewed at regular intervals in response to the development surrounding the coronavirus.

The state government urged all parents and guardians, who have their children and wards in any boarding facility within the state to immediately take them home at the close of schools on Friday.

It advised residents of the state to maintain a high level of personal hygiene and surveillance.

It added that suspected cases should be reported at the nearest primary healthcare centres in all the 236 wards in the state or the emergency operation centre on COVID-19 by telephone on 08188978393 or 08188978392.”