Lagos State Governor-elect Babajide Sanwo-Olu yesterday set up an inauguration committee that will usher in his administration on May 29.

The committee is headed by Tayo Ayinde, the chairman of Babajide Sanwo-Olu Independent Campaign Organisayion (ICG).

According to a statement by his media aide, Gboyega Akosile, Lagos State All Progressives Congress (APC) Women Leader Princess Jumoke Okoya-Thomas and Otunba George Osifeko are vice chairmen while Mrs. Titi Oshodi will serve as secretary.

Sanwo-Olu, accompanied by his deputy, Dr. Obafemi Hamzat, inaugurated the committee at his campaign office on Awolowo Road, Ikoyi.

He said members of the committee are mandated to organise meaningful programmes that will usher in the new government.

The governor-elect said they should liaise with various stakeholders, including the political class, members of the corporate world and other interest groups, whose participation are required for the success of the inauguration.

Sanwo-Olu urged the committee members to cooperate together and work diligently to achieve their mandate.

He also advised them to streamline their activities with the plans of the outgoing government and collaborate with security agencies to have a smooth transition.

Ayinde thanked the governor-elect and his deputy for reposing confidence in the members, assuring that the committee will organise a hitch-free ceremony.

He said the proposed inauguration will be a reference point, pledging the commitment of members to the terms of reference.

Ayinde said: “I want to assure Your Excellencies that sitting before you are highly experienced men and women who have contributed tremendously to various aspects of our national life. I can attest to their individual capacity to deliver on the terms of reference for a smooth inauguration. “

Other members of the committee are Mrs. Obiageli Onu, Mrs Funke Obruthe, Alhaji Abdullahi Enilolobo, Kamal Salau-Badhua, Olatunji Disu, Kappo Emmanuel, Bolaji Durojaiye, Olabopo Odiachi, Bimbo Onabanjo, Ajala Rasaq, Taiwo Abiodun, Ayiri Oladunmoye, Gboyega Akosile, Lanre Adeyinka and Sesan Daini.